The Cold Never Bothered Me Anyways??

14 Jan

It’s a true gloomy week in January.  It can be hard to stay motivated with this cold, dreary month.  I’m doing everything I can to stay on track.  Successfully completing my half marathon next month and meeting my goals is at the top of my priority list.

View From my Sunday 9 Miler Run

View From my Sunday 9 Miler Run

The remainder of my workout week went well.  On Thursday I did a 3 mile run and finally felt like my cardio was getting back to where it needed to be.  Friday I worked out with my trainer.  I had planned to get up and go to a body pump class on Saturday morning but really wasn’t feeling all that great so decided to take the day off.  Definitely was a good decision in preparation for my long run.  I carb loaded with some mellow mushroom pizza (yum) on Saturday and got myself to bed early.

My plan was to wait until it warmed up into the upper 40’s on Sunday to run.  Well as the morning went on it wasn’t looking like the upper 40’s were going to come at all.  So I decided to just suck it up and go out in the 37 degrees and do my run.  Once I got started I didn’t feel terribly cold or anything.  Though when I stopped at mile 3 for a bathroom break my legs were freezing.  I kept my pace controlled just over a 12 minute mile.  Since it had been so long since I’d done anything more than about 3 I didn’t want to kill myself on this run.    I can confidently run much faster than I did but when I hit 36 min at my 5k just took it in stride to save my energy for the end.  It definitely worked out for the best as when I finished my entire 9 miles I really felt like I could run more if I had to.

I’m feeling much better now that I’ve done a significant long run as my 7 miler was almost a month ago!  Everything I did workout wise and eating this past week drastically helped me to run stronger, more consistently and hurt a little bit less!

So far this week I did a 30 minute slow recovery treadmill run on Monday which was not the most pleasant run due to my legs being tired.  I also went to Zumba yesterday and my legs were SCREAMING last night!  Below is the rest of the week’s workouts.

Wednesday: Training Session

Thursday: 3-4 Mile Run

Friday: Training Session

Saturday: 11 Mile Run

Right now Saturday is looking to be sunny and 55 degrees but who really knows what it will actually be!

So things are definitely getting done and I’m keeping it going!

Leave a comment